How did we get here???

When was the last time you wrote a letter or sent a card with more than your named signed?  For most of the human population it’s probably been a while.  Yet we sit here day after day and night after night sending our most intimate thoughts to strangers.  So I ask how did we get here???

And I offer a challenge.  Right now put down the lap top or push away from the desk top and write a letter to Grandma, or mom, or old aunt Hazel or your best friend from high school.stationaryroundup2wr  That’s correct, I said write a letter.  Not post a blog, send a text or even make a phone call.  Trust me the receiver of the letter will appreciate it more than any “send to all” email or text.

How do I know?  I have a grandma in assisted living.  My last living grandparent and I send her a letter about every month.  She has 9 grandchildren and god only knows how many great grandchildren that can write, but I’m the only one that sends card and letters on a regular basis.

How do I know, my aunt told me so.  She also told me that she keeps them out for a couple of weeks and re-reads them often.  It made me glad to know that.  It also pissed me off that I’m the only one that does it.

So move away from the computer, pick up a pen and make somebodies day.

2 Comments

  1. starlaschat said,

    March 22, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    Actually I sent a note and card out a couple of days ago and I use to write letters to my Grandpa all the time usually telling him what I was going to plant in my garden. He was a farmer. I’m so glad I sent him letters. When there gone there gone and you miss them so much. So good for you for keeping touch with your Grandma. by the way I really like your blog.

  2. liajo said,

    March 25, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    Thanks for the comments, I’m really glad to hear that others do still do things the old ways every now and then. I’m glad you enjoy the blog.


Leave a comment